Primary Election Sets Field for November

MI Vote Matters logo

MI Vote Matters logoMichigan’s primary election was held Tuesday, Aug. 2, finalizing the November general election ballot. The 2022 midterm election is critical to Michigan’s healthcare future given the number of key elected positions up for election this year. Based on the primary results, the top of the ticket will include Democratic incumbent Gov. Gretchen Whitmer against Republican nominee Tudor Dixon in the gubernatorial race, followed by attorney general, secretary of state, all 13 U.S. House of Representative seats, all seats in both the Michigan Senate and House of Representatives, two Supreme Court seats and local races.

Due to redistricting, several incumbent lawmakers in both Congress and the state legislature faced competitive primaries. Two congressional race outcomes of note include Rep. Haley Stevens (D-Waterford Township) defeating Rep. Andy Levin (D-Bloomfield Township) in the 11th district; and incumbent Rep. Peter Meijer (R-Grand Rapids) losing to John Gibbs (R-Grand Rapids) in the 3rd district. Two districts that will not feature incumbents in November are the 10th district where John James (R-Farmington Hills) will run against Carl Marlinga (D-Sterling Heights) and the 13th district where state representative Shri Thander’s (D-Detroit) victory in the primary has him positioned as the presumed favorite in a heavily Democratic leaning district.

A handful of state legislative incumbents also lost in the primary. Redistricting had Rep. Andrew Beeler (R-Port Huron) facing Rep. Gary Eisen (R-St. Clair) in the 83rd district, with Rep. Beeler winning the Republication nomination. The same situation occurred in the Senate with Sen. Mallory McMorrow (D-Royal Oak) defeating Sen. Marshall Bullock (D-Detroit). Other incumbents who lost were Rep. Rodney Wakeman (R-Frankenmuth), Rep. Terrence Mekoski (R-Shelby Township), Rep. Richard Steenland (D-Roseville) and Sen. Kim LaSata (R-Niles).

One race that remains to be officially decided is the 34th House District Republican primary. Sen. Dale Zorn (R-Ida) received 4,774 votes, seven more than the second place candidate Ryan Rank. However, Rank has requested a recount.

A candidate listing is currently available on the MHA’s 2022 Election page online.

The MHA will also be preparing and distributing nonpartisan election resources and tools for members following the conclusion of the nominating conventions. These materials are designed to encourage voter education and participation at the local level and will be available on the MHA 2022 Election webpage. The MHA will also feature regular election updates on its Facebook and Twitter feeds using #MIVoteMatters.

For more information about the 2022 primary and general election, visit the Michigan Voter Information Center or contact Sean Sorenson-Abbott at the MHA.