Honor Safe Care, Healthcare Leadership with Nominations for MHA Awards

Posted on March 11, 2020

Hospitals can recognize phenomenal leaders and teams who are committed to providing quality care by nominating them for the MHA Healthcare Leadership Award or the MHA Advancing Safe Care Award.

Advancing Safe Care AwardThe MHA Advancing Safe Care Award honors a team of healthcare professionals within MHA-member hospitals. The award recognizes those who demonstrate a fierce commitment to providing quality care across diverse socio-economic populations, lead the charge for quality improvement, promote transparency to improve healthcare, and achieve better outcomes due to a strong culture of safety.

Judging for this award is based on four criteria: reducing health disparities among specific patient populations; supporting a learning culture committed to trusting, feedback and higher problem-solving; evidence of transparency among care teams, with patients and families, and with community stakeholders; and improving safety by creating high degrees of psychological and physical safety. Nominations must be submitted online by March 27.

Matt Rush, a 2019 winner of Healthcare Leadership AwardThe MHA Healthcare Leadership Award recognizes outstanding members of healthcare governing boards and outstanding executive, physician, nursing and other health leaders. The award honors those who have provided exceptional leadership to an individual healthcare organization and to the health and well-being of the community.

Nominees must represent an MHA-member organization in good standing and have been actively involved with the healthcare organization within the last three years. Judging for the award is based on the nominee’s organizational contributions and leadership and culture contributions. Nominations must be submitted online by April 3.

Honorees will be announced at the 2020 MHA Annual Membership Meeting that will be held June 24-26 on Mackinac Island. For more information, contact Erica Leyko at the MHA.


  • Honor Safe Care, Healthcare Leadership with Nominations for MHA Awards

Tags: quality, Healthcare Leadership Award, Advancing Safe Care Award, Leadership, Erica Leyko, safe care

Posted in: Member News

MHA Updates Delivered to You

Subscribe to the MHA Monday Report weekly newsletter or our podcast, the MiCare Champion Cast, to keep informed about the latest healthcare news and events in Michigan.

MHA Monday Report
Contact us to subscribe

MiCare Champion Cast
iTunes | SoundCloud

Media Inquiries

Contact the MHA at
(517) 703-8601

Read the MHA policy on publication via MHA media.

MHA 100 Year Anniversary

Watch the video »